My exchange to the USA, part I

When I was 17 years old I was about to finish high school without having a clue what to do with the rest of my life. It was frustrating because I liked to study so many things and obviously I couldn’t do it all.
One day I had this French exam and one of the phrases I had to learn was “I’m really sorry you didn’t get excepted into the school in America.” From that moment I kept thinking how cool it would be to study in the USA; the country of my dreams. I came home and told my mom I wanted to do a high school year in the US. She got so excited and told me to find out about the possibilities. I didn’t put it high on my priority list since I had a boyfriend back then so I made this list with advantages and disadvantages. On the advantages list there were things like: Good for my English skills, great experience, becoming more independent, etc. On the other side I wrote: Missing my family. Missing my friends. Missing my boyfriend. Missing my boyfriend. Missing my boyfriend. Missing my boyfriend…

Mike (my ex-boyfriend) really didn’t like the idea of me going abroad for a year. I put my ideas on hold for a while, until one day he broke up with me. I felt really sad about it but I signed up for the program and decided to go!

When you’re signing up for a program like this you have to realize you’re going away for like 10 months and that it’s gonna cost a lot of money. My parents were really supportive because this was a chance they never had when they were young. I preferred to go to Florida and June 24th I received an e-mail that the agency had found a host family for me in Saint Cloud – Florida, close to Orlando.

At first I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go to this family because it was just gonna be my host mother and me. Since I’m an only child I thought it would be good to live in a family with siblings for a year. Now I’m so glad I accepted this family because Sandy Singh, my host mom, gave me a lot of freedom and I had the time of my life!

*Next week I’ll write some more about this amazing year in the USA 🙂

Image

4 comments on “My exchange to the USA, part I

  1. Pingback: My exchange to the USA, part II | Beforetwentyseven

  2. Pingback: My Exchange to the USA, part III | Beforetwentyseven

  3. Pingback: My Exchange to the USA, part IV | Beforetwentyseven

  4. Pingback: My Exchange to the USA, part V | Beforetwentyseven

Leave a Reply

