Ode to the one

.

You are the light that
Shines upon my face
From the moment I wake up
You pull me through the day
The days, which once were dark,
You have faded them away
You let me be me
And I,
I let you stay.

This poem is about a person who can’t find love. When heย finally finds someone that likes himย just the way he is, he decides this should be the person he’ll ‘love’ because he’s sick of looking for real love.

When I was young I was addicted to writing and reading poems. For the last years I haven’t written anything at all, except for this one a couple of months ago. Because of Shane’s blog I’m becoming more interested in poems again.

10 comments on “Ode to the one

  1. This is incredible! I am so glad you decided to share this on your blog!

    You really are a talented writer, and Poet! I hope you continue composing Poems and sharing them with us on here! =]

    I am so glad I was able to re-spark your interest in writing poems!!!

    When I first made my blog I had no intention of ever sharing my poems with anyone, But a Friend I met on here (Tanyeno) Gave me a friendly nudge and encouraged and inspired me to compose and publish my first ever Poem on my blog!

    I am so glad to see you interested in Poetry again, It’s such a great way to express ourselves, and to share things with people we would NEVER share any other way!

    Thanks for the shout out as well Britt, Keep writing…you are a very gifted and writer and you obviously create extremely beautiful poems! =]

    Do you mind if I Re-blog your Poem? I believe all the poets I know on here would really love and appreciate this piece!

    • Poetry seems to be more personal than other kinds of writing. It’s an invisible line that you gotta cross, but it must be good sharing your poems as a part of you and knowing people like it!

      Thank you for getting me interested again and thanks for the compliment.
      Of course you may re-blog it, I’m not sure how often I’ll post poems though haha.

      • I found your interpretation interesting because to allow someone to be themselves …well, isn’t that indicative of true love; to love someone for who they are the way they are rather than try and change them into someone or something they aren’t?

  2. I like to believe that we have all had this type of love “You pull me through the day
    The days, which once were dark,”
    …beautiful words, beautiful poem!

    • Thank you very much! It’s love you may need at some point in your life. But if we let someone stay just because he makes life better and appreciates us the way we are, doesn’t mean you love someone the same way. If you do, you’re so lucky!

Leave a Reply

