New Job: Reporter for Omroep Vlaardingen

I’m obviously into writing, but I never convinced my parents that I wanted to study journalism. Instead my dad said I had to study something less specific, so that’s what I did. I’m almost finished with my studies Hotel- and Eventmanagement at Tio University of Applied Sciences in Rotterdam. In a couple of months I’ll have Bachelor in Business Administration. And then? Well, then I want to take some time to develop myself Β in journalism. A friend of mine is responsible for the local TV channel. Everyone who works there works as a volunteer, including me now, but I can honestly say I’ve already learned a lot and there’s so much more to learn I almost burst of excitement! I love working together with the other ambitious people at Omroep Vlaardingen. They work there because they love doing it, not because they have to. It takes up some of my time and my parents are kinda worried about my thesis (which I’m supposed to write these months) but there’s no need to worry, I just do what I really like!

I’ve done 3 items so far. The one below is my first item about a business centre. The second item was about a free photo shoot for kids. And the last one was kinda spontaneous and totally my own idea, but therefore even more fun.
Coming up: There are 3 weekends in Vlaardingen (that’s the name of the city I live in) where there’s a kinda festival (called ‘het Zomerterras’). I’m gonna make four items about ‘het Zomerterras’ and I have total freedom of making it! I’m very excited because for me it’s kinda huge, but I’m sure I’ll be able to make it work!

This year I will try to write as much as possible, make nice items for the local channel and do what makes me happy (:
If you have any advices or ideas, please let them know. I can use all kinds of help!

Britt&Eva
DSC08749
DSC08742
DSC08740

The YouTube video is in Dutch but I thought it was fun to post it πŸ™‚

5 comments on “New Job: Reporter for Omroep Vlaardingen

  1. First of all very cute pic with you interviewing the kid, but here is my idea. Now don’t hate me if you don’t like it- and I may be completely off-the-beam here- but isn’t prostitution legal in your country? Maybe you could do a story on one of them and interview them about their lifestyle or ‘profession’. Sex always gets good ratings, so I thought I would just throw it out there.

    • Hahhahaa I love your way of thinking! However, there are so many stories on tv about prostitution that we don’t even care anymore. The latest ‘hit’ was the documentary ‘old hookers’: two elderly sisters who are still working in the business…
      Maybe it would be a good idea for a website or blog, but in Holland people have heard enough about their stories… It’s still a good topic though. There’s this channel called BNN that broadcasts a show called “Spuiten en Slikken” (inject and swallow). They talk about all kinds of topics and often about the red light district too. It’s way out of my league.. I gotta practice a whole lot more first haha.

      Thanks!!!

      • I love your ‘hahaha’s’. Another idea that came to mind is doing a series on people who have weird or unusual jobs, or people with weird or unusual hobbies, or talents. You could run a small ad in the classified section of a newspaper that is usually not very costly and just say something like: ‘Doing a news series on people with weird jobs, hobbies, or talents. If you have one, or know of someone who does drop me an email.’ And then just leave an email address. Everyone is always looking for their 15 minutes of fame, so I am sure you could get a few responses and it could be really interesting.

      • Haha we’re so on the same page! I came up with almost the same idea to do a series about people versus their ‘thing’ for the local news channel. And Im allowed to do it :D. I think I just gotta practice on the Omroep Vlaardingen channel and maybe I could take it to a higher level in the future!

  2. You are a natural on camera girl! I’m very excited for you and wish you the best experience of your life. You’re are already great and I can’t wait to see more interviews you do in the future! If I ever become famous, you can come interview me! I’m sure we’d giggle for a majority of the time though!

Leave a Reply

